By deferring polls in Anantnag-Rajouri LS seat, Centre proved delimitation was wrong: Congress

ANANTNAG — Congress leader Ghulam Ahmed Mir lashed out at the ruling BJP, saying that by deferring the poll for the newly created Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency, government has proved that the delimitation process was wrong.

The Election Commission of India on Tuesday deferred the polls for the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency scheduled for May 7 and fixed May 25 as a new date.

Speaking to ANI, Ahmad said, “The BJP is now not going to stay (in power). INDIA alliance is coming (to power) in 2024. Congress is coming. The Congress manifesto clearly says that SC, ST, OBC and other minorities will get their representation in propoportion to their population. This is a gurantee”.

On the Election Commission defering the Lok Sabha polls in the newly created Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency, the Congress leader said, “By deferring the polls, the government of India has accepted their many mistakes. Boundaries were not fixed properly during the delimitation…. It created problems for the system as well as the people. And that their delimitation process, especially for the Lok Sabha was wrong”.

“People will vote against their (BJP) decisions and policies implemented here.The people of Jammu and Kashmir are ready to vote against the BJP,” he added.

In 2019, polling for the Lok Sabha was held for six seats in Jammu and Kashmir. However, following the abrogation of Article 370, which resulted in the split of the erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir state into two Union Territories — Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, there is no longer a separate Lok Sabha constituency for Ladakh.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP won three seats while the National Conference won the remaining three. The counting of votes and results will be declared on June 4.

The PDP and NC, despite being allies in the opposition alliance INDIA bloc, have decided to go solo in the Lok Sabha elections in Jammu and Kashmir.

The general elections are being held in seven phases in a six-week marathon running from April 19 to June 1. Polling for the first phase and the second phase was held on April 19 and April 26, respectively.

The first phase of polling was held on April 19 and the second phase on April 26. The next round of voting will be held on May 25. The results will be declared on June 4. — (ANI)