GoI bans Tehreek-e-Hurriyat under UAPA, terms it ‘Unlawful Association’

SRINAGAR (KIMS) — The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India on Sunday banned Kashmiri separatist organization Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH), Jammu and Kashmir under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA).

The Ministry also termed Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH) as an ‘Unlawful Association’.

The Home Minister of India, Amit Shah said that the organization was involved in prohibited activities aimed at the separation of Jammu and Kashmir from India and the establishment of Islamic rule.

“The ‘Tehreek-e-Hurriyat, J&K (TeH) has been declared an ‘Unlawful Association’ under UAPA,” Amit Shah said in a post on X.

“The outfit is involved in forbidden activities to separate J&K from India and establish Islamic rule. The group is found spreading anti-India propaganda and continuing militant activities to fuel secessionism in J&K,” the post said.

Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH), Jammu and Kashmir was headed by senior separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani since its foundation in 2004. Geelani stepped down in 2018 after which Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai took over as the chairman of the organization.

Geelani passed away in September 2022, while Ashraf Sehrai died in May 2021. — (KIMS)