ICC announces new format for T20 World Cup 2024

DUBAI — The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday, announced a new format for the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, scheduled to be hosted in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

The record 20-team T20 World Cup will take place in two phases before the knockout stages.

In a press release, sent out by the ICC, the cricket governing body confirmed 12 teams already booked their spot in the forthcoming mega event.

“The top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eight phase, where the remaining sides will be split into two groups of four,” ICC stated.

“The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals,” the statement added.

Consequently besides hosts USA and West Indies, Pakistan, India, South Africa, Netherlands, New Zealand, England, Australia and Sri Lanka booked their spot in the next edition of the T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, the remaining better-ranked Afghanistan and Bangladesh also qualified for T20 World Cup 2024.

The remaining eight spots for the 2024 edition will be determined through regional qualifiers.

Two teams each will qualify from Africa, Asia, and Europe while one team each from the Americas and EAP regions will make their way into the global event.

It is pertinent to mention that England edged Pakistan by five wickets in T20 World Cup 2022 Final to lift their second title. — (Agencies)